Possession Lawyer Statesboro
Georgia Drug Possession Laws
Under Georgia drug possession laws, controlled substances are divided into five “schedules” or categories. This classification system ranks certain controlled substances according to their potential for abuse and addiction, as well as whether they have an accepted form of medical usage. Schedule I drugs are considered the most dangerous substances and include drugs such as heroin, LSD, and ecstasy. Schedule V drugs have the lowest potential for abuse and addiction and have a standard medical usage.
What are the Penalties for Drug Possession in Georgia?
Apart from the possession of marijuana, all drug possession crimes are charged as felonies in the state of Georgia. The specific penalties are determined by what schedule the drug falls under, as well as the quantity of the substance involved. Also, those who are facing a second or subsequent conviction can expect to face harsher punishments.
Are you facing a drug possession charge? Our possession lawyer is ready to defend you. Contact Hart Law Group today!
What are the Penalties for Schedule Drugs?
The range of penalties based on drug Schedules is as follows:
- Schedule I and Schedule II substances – first-time offenders can face 2 to 15 years in prison, while subsequent convictions can result in 5 to 30 years in prison
- Schedule III, IV, and V substances – first-time offenders can face 1 to 5 years in prison, while subsequent convictions can result in 1 to 10 years in prison
What are the Penalties for Marijuana Possession in Georgia?
The penalties for marijuana possession include:
- One ounce or less – a maximum fine of $1,000 and up to one year in prison
- More than one ounce – a maximum fine of $5,000 and up to 10 years in prison
Driver’s License Suspension for Drug Possession Convictions
If you are convicted of drug possession in Georgia, fines, jail time, and a permanent criminal record are not the only consequences you will have to deal with. You will also face the suspension of your driver’s license. First-time offenders must undergo a mandatory six-month license suspension. A second drug possession conviction will result in a license suspension of one year, and a third conviction will cause you to lose your license for two years.
Rely on Hart Law Group to Fight Your Charges
At Hart Law Group, we represent individuals who have been arrested and charged with drug crimes, including drug possession. If you have been accused of possessing a controlled substance, be sure to get legal support from an experienced possession attorney in Statesboro, GA immediately. When you choose to work with Malone Hart, you can be confident that everything that can be done to fight your charges is being done.
Call Hart Law Group today at (912) 470-5040 or contact us online to schedule a FREE consultation!
What Makes Hart Law Group
Dedicated Legal Representation
the Right Choice?
Attorney Malone Hart gives back to the community by funding a scholarship every year.
Attorney Malone Hart comes from a long line of successful attorneys and has extensive knowledge of the legal system.
At Hart Law Group our clients come first. We will be by your side through every step of your case.
Attorney Malone Hart will aggressively defend your rights quickly and efficiently.
At Hart Law Group, we offer free initial consultations to meet the needs of our clients.